A LESSON IN THE SIDEWALK

Dear Diary,

Hey its been a while.. allow me to share what I realized today.

Sometimes, I gained life lessons by walking in the street after a tiring duty. Through that, I occasionally noticed those homeless people sleeping in the sidewalk in their fetal position, those kids begging for penny or foods, and those we call “not in their proper mind slash mentally retarded human beings” who are drinking water from dirty canals…

This morning, while I was on my way home, I opt to walk instead of riding on a tricycle. I saw this old woman sleeping in the sidewalk, near CCMC in front of the school. She’s wearing a very dirty clothes and there are lots of bruises on her skin, but there’s this one big lesion on her left leg. I felt helpless. I didn’t want her to feel less-than human and less-than worthwhile. I didn’t want her to be without a roof and a bed, and I didn’t want her to be invisible. Invisible. That’s what it was. In that moment, I saw her, and I held the power to allow her to go back to being invisible. Who am I? I thought. My heart hurt with confusion.. After all, like her, I too am poor…so I decided to just passed by..

then I suddenly stopped. then instead of, Who am I? I tried to ask, Who am I to not? So, I went back at her, getting all my foods inside my bag that were not being touched by me during my breaktime because I didn’t find a time to eat them. I was so sorry for I was not able to help her about her wounds… if only I have materials for wound dressing, if only I have money to help her, if only I have time to look for a geriatric home for her..

I can’t save the world and stop the pain. Nor can I save myself from hurting. But simple acts of love, one homeless and hurting human to another really does go a long way.

Moral Lesson: Take a look around you and then take a closer look at the people struggling around you and be thankful for everything God has blessed you with!!

Love,

Superanj

Leave a Reply

